Strictly’s 20th anniversary – fans crown their favourite ever couple

Strictly: Rose and Giovanni are crowned the winners

We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you’ve consented to and to improve our understanding of you. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our understanding. You can unsubscribe at any time. More info

Strictly Come Dancing celebrates its 20th anniversary this year, after welcoming nearly 200 celebrities to the ballroom since its debut in 2004. From cricketers to comedians, the hit BBC show has seen iconic stars lift the Glitterball trophy after delivering sensational performances and fab-u-lous foxtrots.

We gave Express readers the chance to vote for their favourite winning couple from the last two decades…and the results are in. 

Rose Ayling-Ellis and Giovanni Pernice triumphed in the competition after raking in 47 percent of public votes. The EastEnders actress won the show last year, after her emotional performance dedicated to the deaf community. 

Singer-songwriter Jay McGuiness and dance partner Aliona Vilani scooped second place as they performed a Pulp Fiction-inspired Jive for one lively performance. The series 13 winners previously won the title for the most memorable Strictly dance.

And in third place sits Kelvin Fletcher and Oti Mabuse following their eclectic jive to Jailhouse Rock, which had fans swooning over the actor’s hip action. 

Elsewhere on the list, readers voted for Bill Bailey and Oti Mabuse (series 18), Caroline Flack and Pasha Kovalev (series 12), and Stacey Dooley and Kevin Clifton (series 16).

Check out the full list of celebrities in winning order – as voted by our readers – below.

  1. Rose Ayling-Ellis and Giovanni Pernice – Series 19
  2. Jay McGuiness and Aliona Vilani – Series 13
  3. Kelvin Fletcher and Oti Mabuse – Series 17
  4. Bill Bailey and Oti Mabuse – Series 18
  5. Caroline Flack and Pasha Kovalev – Series 12
  6. Stacey Dooley and Kevin Clifton – Series 16
  7. Jill Halfpenny and Darren Bennett – Series 2
  8. Mark Ramprakash and Karen Hardy – Series 4
  9. Tom Chambers and Camilla Dallerup – Series 6 
  10. Kara Tointon and Artem Chigvintsev – Series 8
  11. Harry Judd and Aliona Vilani – Series 9 
  12. Abbey Clancy and Aljaž Škorjanec – Series 11
  13. Louis Smith and Flavia Cacace – Series 10
  14. Ore Oduba and Joanne Clifton – Series 14
  15. Darren Gough and Lilia Kopylova – Series 3
  16. Alesha Dixon and Matthew Cutler – Series 5
  17. Natasha Kaplinsky and Brendan Cole – Series 1
  18. Joe McFadden and Katya Jones – Series 15
  19. Chris Hollins and Ola Jordan – Series 7

With so many spectacular performances over the last 20 years, do you agree with our readers? Or is there another couple that you think should be included? Let us know your thoughts in the comments below.

And don’t forget to sign up to our newsletter to get all of the latest gossip on the show straight to your inbox – and keeeeeep dancing!

Source: Read Full Article